Home » Uncategorized » How does the world see the US?

How does the world see the US?

Good question.  Suzy Hansen left for Istanbul at the age of 30 – and discovered we Americans need to drop our “greatest on earth” tag and start seeing our nation through other nations’ eyes.

 

“I was conscious that if I had long ago succumbed to the pathology of American nationalism, I wouldn’t know it – even if I understood the history of injustice in America, even if I was furious about the invasion of Iraq. I was a white American. I still had this fundamental faith in my country in a way that suddenly, in comparison to the Turks, made me feel immature and naive.”

#usnews #turkey #migration #jamesbaldwin #cia

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2017/aug/08/unlearning-the-myth-of-american-innocence

Leave a Reply

